Back William Dean Howells: Seven Novels 1875–1888 (two volumes) add to cart

William Dean Howells: Seven Novels 1875–1888 (two volumes)

A Foregone Conclusion | A Modern Instance | Indian Summer | The Rise of Silas Lapham | The Minister’s Charge | April Hopes | Annie Kilburn

“Why read third- or fourth-rate fiction just to be entertained, when you can be entertained and enlightened by a wise master of fiction who knew what the world was about as well as pretty nearly any writer of his time in America?”—The Tampa Tribune-Times

add to cart
55.00 List Price: $80.00 (Save: 31%) Free shipping

Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778 Request product #230011

2098 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission