Back W. S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1952–1993 add to cart

W. S. Merwin: Collected Poems 1952–1993

A Mask for Janus | Dancing Bears | Green with Beasts | The Drunk in the Furnace | The Moving Target | The Lice | The Carrier of Ladders | Writings to an Unfinished Accompaniment | The Compass Flower | Opening the Hand | The Rain in the Trees | Travels | uncollected poems
Edited by J. D. McClatchy

“Since early on, almost every step of the way, Merwin has shown himself to be wrestling with his aesthetic ideas and ideals, striving toward simplicity, though held in check by a showy desire to make complicated transformations happen, to impress the reader with virtuosity. He began to overcome this showiness by the time of The Lice. It’s nothing short of enlightening to watch him make that journey.”—Craig Morgan Teicher, Los Angeles Review of Books

add to cart
31.50 List Price: $37.50 (Save: 16%) Free shipping

Phone orders: 1-800-964-5778 Request product #202558

ISBN: 978-1-59853-208-1 852 pages

LOA books are distributed worldwide by Penguin Random House

N° 240 Library of America Series

Subscribers can purchase the slipcased edition by signing in to their accounts.

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission