Back Watch: A Wrinkle in Time was only the beginning

This Fall, rediscover the magic of A Wrinkle in Time and all seven of its sequels in a deluxe, two-volume collector’s edition boxed set.

Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time is one of the most beloved and influential novels for young readers ever written. The book’s unforgettable heroine, Meg Murry, must confront her fears and self-doubt to rescue her scientist father, who has been experimenting with mysterious tesseracts capable of bending the very fabric of space and time. But A Wrinkle in Time was only the beginning of the adventures. This September, for the first time, L’Engle’s iconic classic and all seven of its sequels—the complete Kairos (“cosmic time”) novels—will be collected in a deluxe edition for the ages (and for all ages), complete with never-before-seen deleted passages from A Wrinkle in Time.

In the trailer above, L’Engle’s granddaughter, Charlotte Jones Voiklis; children’s book historian Leonard Marcus; and Library of America editor Stefanie Peters share some insights into the editorial process behind the forthcoming release.

The Kairos Novels, Volume One: The Wrinkle in Time Quartet
A Wrinkle in Time • A Wind in the Door • A Swiftly Tilting Planet • Many Waters

The Kairos Novels, Volume Two: The Polly O’Keefe Quartet
The Arm of the Starfish • Dragons in the Waters • A House Like a Lotus • An Acceptable Time

On sale September 4, 2018.

Library of America

A champion of America’s great writers and timeless works, Library of America guides readers in finding and exploring the exceptional writing that reflects the nation’s history and culture.

Learn More

From poetry, novels, and memoirs to journalism, crime writing, and science fiction, the more than 300 volumes published by Library of America are widely recognized as America’s literary canon.

Browse our books Subscribe

With contributions from donors, Library of America preserves and celebrates a vital part of our cultural heritage for generations to come.

Support our mission